Ministry of Electronics & Information TechnologyNATIONAL INFORMATICS CENTRE Andhra Pradesh

  National Knowledge Network (NKN)

National Knowledge Network (NKN) project is aimed at establishing a strong and robust Indian network which will be capable of providing secure and reliable connectivity. Globally, frontier research and innovation are shifting towards multidisciplinary and collaborative paradigm and require substantial communication and computational power.

In India, NKN with its multi-gigabit capability aims to connect all universities, research institutions, libraries, laboratories, healthcare and agricultural institutions across the country to address such paradigm shift. The leading mission oriented agencies in the fields of nuclear, space and defence research are also part of NKN.

By facilitating the flow of information and knowledge, the network addresses the critical issue of access and creates a new paradigm of collaboration to enrich the research efforts in the country. The network design is based on a proactive approach that takes into account the future requirements and new possibilities that this infrastructure may unfold, both in terms of usage and perceived benefits. This will bring about a knowledge revolution that will be instrumental in transforming society and promoting inclusive growth.

Role of NKN:

• Establishing a high-speed backbone connectivity which will enable knowledge and information sharing amongst NKN connected institutes
• Enabling collaborative research, development and innovation amongst NKN connected institutes
• Facilitating advanced distance education in specialized fields like engineering, science, medicine etc.
• Facilitating an ultra-high speed e-governance backbone
• Facilitating connection between different sectoral networks in the field of research

The following is the list of NKN sites in Andhra Pradesh

1 Andhra Medical College and King George Hospital, Visakhapatnam
2 Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Nellore
3 Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Kakinada
4 Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Anantapur
5 Dravidian University, Kuppam
6 Sri Venkateswara Vedic University, Tirupati
7 Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University, Tirupati
8 Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Anantpur
9 Acharya Nagarjuna University, Nagarjuna Nagar
10 Krishna University, Machllipatnam
11 Vikrama Simhapuri University, Nellore
12 Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
13 Yogi Vemana University, Kadapa
14 Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University, Etcherla
15 Sri Padmavathi Mahila Visvavidyalayam, Tirupati
16 Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati
17 Rayalaseema University, Kurnool
18 Dr.N.T.R University of Health Sciences(NTRUHS) (Formerly : Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences)
19 Central Tobacco Research Institute, Rajahmundry
20 S.V Medical College, Tirupathi
21 Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinada
22 Guntur Medical College, Guntur
23 Kurnool Medical College, Kurnool
24 Dr. Y.S.R Horticulture University ,Tadepalligudem
25 Govt. Medical College, Anatapur
26 Rajiv Gandhi Instt. of Medical Sciences, Kadapa
27 Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Srikakulam
28 Siddharatha Medical College,Vijaywada
29 Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Tirupati
30 Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, Vidyagiri
31 Koneru Lakshmaiah Education Foundation, Guntur
32 Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam
33 Naval Science & Technological Laboratory (NSTL),Vigyan Nagar
34 Vignan’s Foundation for Science, Technology and Research, Guntur
35 School of Planning and Architecture, Vijayawada
36 BARC, Vizag, Visakhapatnam
37 National Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Tirupati
38 Directorate of Oil Palm Research West Godavari
39 Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences, Tirupati
40 INS Satavahana, Vishakhapatnam
41 CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Regional Centre-Vishakhapatnam
42 Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Vishakhapatnam
43 Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Tirupati
44 IISER, Tirupati
45 Indian Insitute of Petroleum and Energy (IIPE), Vishakhapatnam
46 Andhra Pradesh Human Resource Development Institute, Bapatla
47 Amravati Data Centre, Amravati
48 National Institute of Design, Vijayawada
49 Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies (IIIT), Kadapa
50 Gandhi Institute of Technology and management (GITAM) renamed as Gitam University

Click Here to visit NKN Official Website